04 November 2019:
Dropbox has rolled out it’s new file transfer feature – Dropbox Transfer for all users. The feature was introduced in beta earlier this year.
This new file transfer feature allows users to share files without sharing edit access to their personal copies of them.
While compiling the files into a transfer, users will get a link which they can share. The link will led people to a landing page, where they can directly download the file from that page or save it to their Dropbox account.
Those (receivers) who are not on Dropbox will also be able to access the files via links.
Users will have the option to choose an expiry date for the link. The link will expire after three or seven days. After expiry, the links won’t be accessible.
The feature is similar to other file sharing services, but it’s integration within Dropbox will make the process convenient for users.
Users who are using free account at Dropbox can send upto 100 MB of files. This can be helpful for many users as the popular email service – Gmail has a limit of 25 MB for attachments.
Users with Dropbox professional subscription can transfer files upto 100 GB. The company also allows it’s professional subscriber to password protect a file, pick an expiration date. Those subscribers will also be able to customise the background and logo that will appear when recipients view your transfers.
Viewership stats will allow users to see how many times the transfer’s been accessed.
According to Dropbox, users will be able to make a transfer page from dropbox.com/transfer, the desktop app, and the iOS app.
(Source – Dropbox)